Club News‎ > ‎

Club Notes 8th Jan 2019

posted 10 Jan 2019, 10:42 by
By Eileen Cahill PRO

Tinryland GFC Draw

The new year in Tinryland GFC kicked off to a great start with a massive Christmas draw on New Year’s Eve, followed by music from Dave O’Neill. Prize winners include: 1st Bríd Uí Mhaoluala - Holiday voucher, 2nd Turlough O’Brien - TV, 3rd Elaine Townsend - Weekend away. List of all prize winners available on Tinryland GFC website & Facebook. Thanks to all who contributed to a successful fundraising night for the club. Wishing all our club members and their families a happy and peaceful 2019.


Tinryland GFC AGM was held on Thur 3rd Dec. A new committee was elected as follows – President Brendan Hayden, Vice Presidents Joe O’Gorman & Fr. Tom Little, Chairperson Mick Murphy, vice Chairperson Shane O’Neill, Treasurer Lee Buggle, Assistant Treasurer Ger Broderick, Secretary Enda Dunican, Assistant Secretary Conor Byrne, Registrar Peenie Whelan, Irish Officer Brian Deane, PRO Eileen Cahill, Health & Wellbeing officer Liam Lawlor.

U19 Football final:

Tinryland lost out to St. Patrick’s in the U19 B football championship final played in Netwatch Cullen Park on Thur 20th Dec. Despite a gallant performance from Tinryland St. Patrick’s Tullow proved too strong on the night. This was the first ever U19 football championship in Carlow GAA history. St. Patrick’s 2-14, Tinryland 3-9.

Turkey Trot:

The Annual Tinryland AC Turkey trot took place on St. Stephens morning saw 110 walkers, joggers & runners complete the 4 mile lap of the parish. Eamon Murphy was presented with the Seamus Galway cup as winner in 21.48 secs. Runner up was Colin Payne in 22.31. The first lady home was Catherine Doyle in 28.52 followed by Breda Browne in 29.48. Well done to all who took part, all proceeds this year will be shared between Tinryland senior citizens group and Tinryland first responders.

Lotto results:

Lotto results for Sun 30th Dec. There was no jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 6,17,21,23. Winners of €25 lucky dips: David Nolan, Paula Hickey, P.J. Murphy & Mick Wogan. Promoters prize: Peenie Whelan