Club News‎ > ‎

Tinryland G.F.C. Club Notes week ending 25th February 2017

posted 28 Feb 2017, 08:11 by
Tinryland G.F.C. Club Notes week ending 25th February 2017
By Eamonn Byrne Club PRO

It has been a sad few week’s for the club with the passing in January of club stalwarts Mick Whelan and Mick Farrell. On Wednesday last 22nd February long time club treasurer and current Vice president Tom Doyle went to his eternal reward in his 90th year. The removal of his remains took place on Friday last to Tinryland Church with club members providing a guard of honour on his final journey. Tom’s requiem Mass took place on Saturday morning followed by burial in Tinryland cemetary. Tinryland G.F.C. extends sympathy to Tom’s family.

One of the talking points in the past week was the Carlow G.A.A. draws for the 2017 championships. Tinryland seniors have been drawn in a tough group that includes current champions Palatine, former champions Old Leighlin and last year’s semi-finallists Mount Leinster Rangers.

In the U21 championship Tinryland will play Fenagh in the opening round.

In the J.F.C. (A) Tinryland has been drawn in a group that includes St. Patrick’s, Old Leighlin and Leighlinbridge. In J.F.C. (B) Tinryland will play Naomh Eoin, Eire Og and Kildavin-Clonegal.

Danny Moran and Shane Redmond were part of the Carlow team that had a good win over Limerick in round 3 of the Allianz N.F.L. div. 4 at Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday last.

Well done to Adam Murphy club member and son of Tinryland G.F.C. chairman Mick on his outstanding athletic achievements recently. On Sunday last Adam who recently won the National U23 200m title won the Leinster senior indoor 200m title in a brilliant time of 21.72. Adam was recently picked on the national relay squad for 2017 also.

The handball section of the club was well represented at the Carlow Handball awards night held in Tinryland on Friday last. Among those from Tinryland H.C.who won awards were: Jonny Scully, Ben Traynor, Jack Walton, Seamus McCullough, Joe Regan, Calum Fisher, Padraig Thompson, Kian Dooley, Robert O’Driscoll, Jack Murphy, Cormac O’Brien, Patrick Byrne, Sarah Nolan, Jill MGrath, Katie Barrett, and Laura Donovan.

Tinryland G.F.C. is planning a race night on Saturday 1st April.