Club News‎ > ‎

Tinryland G.F.C. Notes 7th August 2018

posted 7 Aug 2018, 02:51 by

By Eamonn Byrne PRO

Last week was a mixed one on the playing front with teams tasting both success and defeat.

In the Michael Lyng Motors S.F.C. Tinryland lost out to last year’s Co. finallists Rathvilly by 2 points in a low scoring game at Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday evening. Tinryland who had defeated Palatine in the first round led by the minimum mid- way through the first half but were rocked by a Rathvilly goal from Garry Dempsey in the 19th minute. At half time both sides were all square at 1-1 for Rathvilly and 0-4 for Tinryland. The second half was a close affair with both defences on top but Tinryland were reduced to 14 men following a second yellow card for midfielder Mark Morrissey. Rathvilly edged ahead with late points to maintain their unbeaten record in group 1 and Tinryland will now have to defeat Old Leighlin at the end of August to progress to the knockout stages.

Tinryland’s best players on Saturday included goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne, John Paul Moore, Shane Redmond, John Murphy, Cormac Walshe and Adam Dunne

In the Talbot Hotel junior (A) championship Tinryland staged a remarkable comeback in their round 2 game with Leighlinbridge on Thursday last. Trailing by 10 points at half time Tinryland went further in arrears when Leighlinbridge scored an early second half goal but remarkably the game changed in a big way over the next 20 minutes. Tinryland scored 3 goals in a 12 minute period mid- way through the 2nd half and were on level terms with less than one minute left on the clock. Leighlinbridge then scored a point from a free but Tinryland got the equaliser with a brilliant point from Mark Lawlor deep in stoppage time. Outstanding for Tinryland who play Naomh Eoin in their final group game at the end of August were David Townsend scorer of 3-2, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Mark Lawlor, David O’Shea, Padraig Townsend and Eoghan Hosey.

Bennekerry-Tinryland ladies team are on course for a 4th successive Carlow S.F.C. following a comfortable win over former champions St. Fortcherns on Thursday last. Playing against a strong wind BT led by the minimum at half time but pulled away for a comfortable win in the second half with a hat trick of goals from Lauren Dwyer and another from Leah Mullins to run out easy winners on a scoreline of 4-16 to 1-6. Outstanding for the BT ladies were Jane Bullen, Alex McNeill, Niamh Kelly, Lauren Dwyer, Cliodhna Ni Se, Katie Bullen and Deirdre Tomlinson. Best wishes to the Bennekerry Tinryland representatives on the Carlow team that plays Limerick in the All Ireland J.F.C. in Limerick on Saturday next. The BT representatives are Roisin Byrne, Leah Mullins, Elaine Ware, Deirdre Tomlinson, Nuala Mohan and Ciara Nolan.

Best wishes to club members Marcus Lawler and Cormac Kelly who will represent Ireland in the European multi- sport championships taking place in Berlin and Glasgow this week. Marcus will be competing in the 200m with the heats beginning on Tomorrow Wednesday at 11.40 a.m. The semi- final is fixed for Wednesday evening and Marcus will be hoping to progress to the final. Cormac Kelly will be in action in Glasgow on Saturday next in the ETU European sprint Triathlon when he will have to swim 750m, cycle 20 kilometres and run 5 kilometres.