Club News‎ > ‎

Tinryland G.F.C. Notes for 10th January 2018

posted 13 Jan 2018, 12:43 by


There was deep sadness among many club members in the lead up to Christmas when the death of former leading club player Enda Smyth was announced on Tuesday 19th December.

Enda who was in his 85th year and was a native of Meath joined the club when he first came to work at Carlow sugar factory in the late 1950’s. Donning the midfield jersey he gave many sterling performances in the Tinryland and Carlow colours and he featured on the very good Carlow team of 1962 that narrowly lost the national league semi-final to then All Ireland champions Down. He was a member of the Tinryland team that won the Carlow S.F.L. in 1961 and when he retired from playing the game he maintained his links with the club through the many friends he had made over the years. At his funeral in Graiguecullen on Thursday 21st December Tinryland club members provided a guard of honour with the blue and white jersey placed on his coffin together with the Carlow Jersey and Co. Carlow rugby football club colours. Following his requiem Mass Enda was laid to rest at The Hill Of Slane in his native county of Meath.

The following sub-committees were formed following the January executive meeting of the club last week:  Football: Ned Deane, Cormac Walshe, Peenie Whelan, Bernard Mullen, Niall Barrett, Willie Power plus a selector from each junior team.

Development: Ger Broderick, Peenie Whelan, Niall Barrett, George Deane, Enda Dunican

Maintenance: George Deane, Jimmy Curran, John McCullough, Nicholas Ryan, John Brennan, Bernard Mullen.

Finance: Ger Broderick, Mary Doyle, Michael Hynds

Events: Mark Morrissey, Cormac Walshe, Alan Doyle, Willie Power, Peenie Whelan

Sponsorship: Jimmy Curran, Ger Broderick, Brian Deane, John Brennan, Mick Murphy

Lotto: John McCullough, Cormac Walshe, Cora O’Reilly, Peenie Whelan

Bar & Social: David O’Neill, Shane O’Neill, Michael Hynds, John Murphy

Dinner dance: Eamonn Byrne, John McCullough, Brian Deane, Cormac Walshe plus 2 members from Bennekerry-Tinryland ladies club.

1967/69 re-union committee: Liam Byrne, David Byrne, David Power, Pat Foster, Eamonn Byrne, Mick Murphy

Tickets for the 2018 Dinner dance in conjunction with Bennekerry-Tinryland ladies G.F.C. will be available shortly