Club News‎ > ‎

Tinryland to play a major part in Carlow G.A.A. commemoration of 1916

posted 3 Dec 2015, 10:12 by

By Eamonn Byrne        

Tinryland will have a prominent role to play in the Carlow G.A.A. 1916 commemorative event due to take place on Saturday 2nd April 2016.

The 4 clubs that contested the 1916 Co. senior finals in football and hurling have been invited to re inact the Co. finals of that year in 2 games to be played at Netwatch Cullen park.

Tinryland lost to Tullow 1-9 to 0-7 in the 1916 Co. football final which was actually played one year later in 1917 while Graiguecullen who were then part of Carlow played Bagenalstown in the hurling final. Both games at that time were 17 aside.

A tentative outline of the day’s events next April which is subject to some change was recently outlined at a meeting in the Co. board offices at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Proceedings will begin at 4 p.m. with a parade from Dublin St. towards Netwatch Cullen Park involving the players from the participating clubs and all others who wish to march. The parade will involve as many local bands as possible. At 5.15 p.m. the teams will parade around the pitch before Bagenalstown take on Graiguecullen in the hurling game at 5.20 p.m.

The Tinryland V Tullow football game is set to start at 6.10 p.m. When the action on the field of play is finished there will be a series of mini events taking place in the assembly area behind the Lennon stand including a taste of Carlow 1916, children’s schoolyard games, best dressed lady and gentlemen in period dress and much more.

The clubs involved have been asked by the Co. board to source the team sheet from the day and a background where possible about the players of the time.

Carlow GAA suggest that relatives both direct and distant should be given precedence when choosing the players to contest the re-enactment next April. They also suggest that in the absence of information regarding bloodline connections that there should be a broad spread across the age spectrum when choosing the team. Clubs however will have the final say in the selection of personnel for the non- competitive event.

The Tinryland Team that contested the 1916 Co. senior football final was: Michael Regan, Andrew Murphy, John Joseph McGrath, John Murphy, Pat Kane, William Murphy, Patrick Murphy, Edward Hayden, Richard Hayden, Joseph Hayden, Jack Murphy, Tom Cummins, Jim Darcy, Pat Cummins, Michael Ryan, J Gorman, J McGrath.

Any club member who can help with providing bloodline connections to any of the above team members is asked to contact Eamonn Byrne at 087 2770128.