Match Reports‎ > ‎

13 Man Tinryland defeat Co Champions in Carlow S.F.L. Div 1

posted 13 May 2012, 04:34 by
13 Man Tinryland defeat Co Champions in Carlow S.F.L. Div 1

By Eamonn Byrne

Giving their best performance this season Tinryland reversed the Co final result when they defeated Old Leighlin by 1-11 to 0-7 in a fiery encounter at Rathcrogue on Saturday 12th May. Making the performance even more meritorious was the fact that Tinryland played for 45 minutes with only 13 players after Conor Byrne and Cian Moore were red carded in the 15th minute. Tinryland began swiftly and were 3 points up within 9 minutes after points from Paul Broderick (2) and Glen Doyle. The lead could have been greater as Alan Barrett had a certain goal denied by the woodwork in the 2nd minute. Another Paul Broderick point in the 15th minute following good work by Padraig Townsend, Cian Moore, Jeff Sutton and J P Moore left Tinryland 4 points up. The dismissals then happened after a Tinryland player was kicked on the ground but amazingly no Old Leighlin player was punished and Tinryland suddenly found themselves down to 13.

It was then that the team had to stand up and be counted and they did that in spades. In a five minute spell just before half time Tinryland added on 1 goal and 4 points while holding the champions scoreless and they left the field at half time to a round of applause from the Tinryland supporters who were thrilled with their efforts against all the odds.

On the restart after an inspirational team talk by manager Martin Murphy Tinryland went 1-9 to 0-0 in front when Cormac Walsh pointed. Old Leighlin finally opened their account in the 35th minute but this score was matched by a Padraig Townsend point. Amazingly there was no further score until the 49th minute as the Tinryland defence did trojan work to keep Old Leighlin at bay despite the numerical handicap. Old Leighlin finally began to get their act together tagging on 5 unanswered points between the 20th and 28th minutes but Paul Broderick steadied the ship when he pointed a free in the 29th minute and despite almost 4 minutes of stoppage time Old Leighlin could only manage one further point. Tinryland are now 3rd in the league table behind Rathvilly and Eire Og with 6 games remaining. The next outing takes place on Friday next 18th May away to Kildavin-Clonegal at 7.30 p.m. The Kildavin men defeated league leaders Rathvilly on Saturday last. Outstanding for Tinryland on Saturday were Paul Broderick who scored 1-7 of his teams total. Others to impress were John Paul Moore, Shane Redmond, Jeff Sutton, Keith Jackson, Cormac Walsh and subs John Dwyer, Peadar Doran and Shane O’Neill.

Team: Darren Murphy, Jeff Sutton, Conor Byrne, John Paul Moore, Danny Moran, Shane Redmond, Niall Barrett, Cian Moore, Keith Jackson 0-1, Matthew O’Toole, Padraig Townsend 0-1, Cormac Walsh 0-1, Paul Broderick 1-7, Glen Doyle 0-1, Alan Barrett.

Subs Shane O’Neill, John Dwyer, John Farrell, Peadar Doran.