Match Reports‎ > ‎

Comfortable league win for Tinryland seniors against newly promoted Kilbride

posted 10 Apr 2018, 14:59 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland were always in control in this S.F.L. division 1 tie against last year’s Intermediate champions in Rathcrogue on Sunday last 8th April. A goal and a point from wing forward Matthew O’Toole within 4 minutes of the throw in set the tone for this game. Kilbride got their opening point in the 7th minute from Stephen Curry but further points from Diarmaid Walshe, Conor O’Toole, and Paul Broderick increased the home team’s advantage before Darragh Foley got Kilbride’s 2nd point from long range. Tinryland were enjoying a lot of possession at this stage with midfielders Glen Doyle and Mark Morrissey dominating and by half time the men in blue and white led by 7 points following a succession of well taken points from Paul Broderick (2), Matthew O’Toole, Conor O’Toole and Glen Doyle. Kilbride added 2 further points to their first half tally via Darragh Foley dead balls. Half time score Tinryland 1-8 Kilbride 0-4.

The second half was only 7 minutes old when Tinryland rattled the Kilbride net once again with Niall Lowry finishing a great move involving Paul Broderick and Diarmaid Walshe. Further points from Walshe (2) and sub Peter Hennessy opened a 13 point gap by the mid-way stage of the 2nd half.

Kilbride were relying on Darragh Foley for their scores at this stage and the Co. man together with Stephen Curry and Brendan Butler added further points as Tinryland coasted home for their first league win. Full time score Tinryland 2-15 Kilbride 0-8.

The entire Tinryland defence were prominent throughout and with Glen Doyle and Mark Morrissey giving a plentiful supply to the forward line Tinryland looked sharp with Paul Broderick, Diarmaid Walshe and Matthew O’Toole their most prominent front men.

Kilbride were best served by Seamus Gray, Darragh Foley, Stephen Curry, Brendan Butler and Davy Moran. Tinryland seniors are back in league action on this coming Sunday 15th April away to Eire Og in Pairc Ui bhrian at 7 p.m.

Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, John Paul Moore, John Murphy, Conor Byrne, Rory Doyle, Adam Dunne, Cian Lawlor, Mark Morrissey, Glen Doyle 0-1, Matthew O’Toole 1-2, Paul Broderick 0-4, Conor McGrath, Niall Lowry 1-0, Diarmaid Walshe 0-3, Conor O’Toole 0-2. Subs Shane Redmond, Shane Webb, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Danny Moran, Ronan Curran 0-2 and Paul Doyle.

Kilbride: Alan Reamsbottom, James Foley, Mark Curry, John O’Neill, Sean Foley, Eoin Nolan, Jack Ryan, Seamus Gray, Darragh Foley 0-5, Davy Moran, Stephen Curry 0-2, Griffin Kennedy, Colin O’Toole, Brendan Butler 0-1,……….. Subs: John Fitzpatrick, Padraig Nolan, Vincent Butler.