Match Reports‎ > ‎

Eight U21 Title for Tinryland after a brilliant second half in final against Palatine

posted 4 Oct 2015, 01:09 by   [ updated 7 Oct 2015, 03:29 ]

By Eamonn Byrne

A brilliant second half performance by our u21 team saw them lift an 8th U21 crown for the club in a very good final against Palatine at Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday 3rd October.

Having come the hard road to reach the final after defeating Rathvilly and Eire Og Tinryland were favourites going in to this game. The men in blue and white started well scoring a point from Andrew Hanley within 30 seconds of the start after good play by Niall Lowry, Peter Hennessy and Conor O’Toole. With the Tinryland midfield pair of John Dwyer and Peter Hennessy laying down an early marker Tinryland doubled their tally in the 4th minute with a brilliant Hennessy point after good play by Diarmaid Walshe. Things got even better one minute later when a great run by John Dwyer resulted in full forward Mark Lawlor adding another point. Palatine then opened their account in the 6th minute when their full forward Brian O’Mahony raised a white flag after good play by centre forward Tomas Kenny. The Cnoc Arda men then had a great chance of a goal but a brilliant interception by Cathal Gaffney averted the danger in lieu of a 45 which was subsequently converted by O’Mahony to leave the minimum separating the teams after 8 minutes.  Tinryland edged 2 points clear once again in the 9th minute following a brilliant Diarmaid Walshe point following strong play by Mark Lawlor but Pal danger man Shane O’Neill brought his team within one point once again when he scored a long distance point in the 12th minute. By the 15th minute the teams were all square once again when Tomas Kenny slotted over the equaliser following a clean catch by Brian O’Mahony. It got even better at this stage for Palatine with corner forward Conor Reynolds finding the Tinryland net in 18th minute after poor marking by the Tinryland defence. Tinryland’s response to this goal was a well worked Conal Dunne point in the 20th minute and after good work by Peter Hennessy and Conor O’Toole Tinryland were within 1 point of our neighbours in the 21st minute after a superb Andrew Hanley point. Seven minutes before the interval the sides were all square once again when Ciaran Larkin scored a point out of the top drawer at the town end following good defensive play by Cathal Gaffney John Murphy and Adam Dunne. Palatine then introduced Cian Fitzpatrick for Mark Brennan and the Bennekerry based team took the lead for the 2nd time when wing back Jack Brennan slotted over a point. Back came Tinryland at the other end and Mark Lawlor had to be satisfied with a point after going for goal following good play by Conal Dunne. Two minutes before the break Tinryland regained the lead with a Diarmaid Walshe conversion from a ’45 before Palatine had a wonderful chance of a goal which was brilliantly deflected over for a point by Tinryland’s superb keeper Ciaran Byrne. Shortly afterwards referee Pat Murphy brought the first half to a close with the sides all square at Tinryland 0-9 Palatine 1-6.  

When the teams emerged for the 2nd half Tinryland had introduced their captain Cian Lawlor for Fionnan Burke but it was Palatine who regained the advantage once again when their wing back Conor O’Doherty slotted over a point in the 34th minute. Tinryland responded with a Ciaran Larkin point after great interplay involving Conor O’Toole, Diarmaid Walshe, Niall Lowry and Andrew Hanley. Back came Pal and a Conor Reynolds point regained the lead once again before a great run by Ciaran Larkin resulted in Niall Lowry winning a free which was duly converted by Diarmaid Walshe.

Tinryland at this stage introduced Sean Kirwan for Shane Webb and within 60 seconds the ball was in the Palatine net via Conall Dunne after an excellent long delivery by Cathal Gaffney who capped an excellent season by another fine display when it mattered. Tinryland’s tails were up now and with John Dwyer and Peter Hennessy dominating mid field Tinryland pulled 4 points clear in the 42nd minute with another Diarmaid Walshe point after more intelligent play by Conal Dunne. Palatine rang the changes from the bench in an effort to curb the influence of John Dwyer and Peter Hennessy introducing James Kehoe for Stanislav Jolondcovschi and Darragh Fitzpatrick for Adam Duggan. Tinryland moved 5 points clear in the 44th minute with a successful Diarmaid Walshe free which was cancelled out by a successful Conor Crowley free for Palatine. Another pivotal moment in the game then occurred when Diarmaid Walshe was fouled in the penalty area after great play by Andrew Hanley and cool as a cucumber Ciaran Larkin stroked the ball into the net to extend Tinryland’s lead to 7 points with 10 minutes remaining. Tinryland then rang the changes with Conor McGrath replacing Andrew Hanley and the corner forward who had been excellent throughout received a strong round of applaus from the Tinryland supporter for his contribution. With 8 minutes remaining Niall Lowry extended the Tinryland lead to 8 points as Palatine introduced Rickey Nolan for Shane O’Neill with Cormac Duff replacing Conor Reynolds. Tinryland also continued to empty the bench bringing on Adam Murphy and Rory Doyle and it was Murphy who put the icing on the cake when he linked well with Rory Doyle to score Tinryland’s 3rd goal shortly after Conall Dunne had scored Tinryland’s final point. In the final minutes Tinryland also introduced Killian Maher before referee Murphy brought proceedings to a close with Tinryland running out deserving winners in the end against a gallant Palatine who never gave up. Final score Tinryland 3-15 Palatine 1-10.

Well done to the full U21 panel and their great back room team of Martin Doyle, Cormac O’Toole and Mick Murphy. This was a great all round performance based on an excellent defence, top class mid field play that saw us winning 24 of the 35 kick outs and excellent forward play that annexed 18 scores including 3 goals in the hour. Tinryland has now won 8 U21 titles since the grade was introduced in 1964. Those winning years were 1967 beat Eire Og, 1969 beat Ballinabranna in the final, 1978 defeated Clonmore in final, 1979 beat St. Andrew’s, 1980 beat St. Andrews, 2003 beat Kildavin-Clonegal, 2006 defeated Michael Davitts and today beat our neighbours Palatine.

Team: Ciaran Byrne, Cathal Gaffney, John Murphy, Fionnan Burke, Adam Dunne, Shane Webb, Niall Lowry 0-1, John Dwyer, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Conor O’Toole, Diarmaid Walshe 0-5, Ciaran Larkin 1-2, Conal Dunne 1-2, Mark Lawlor 0-2, Andrew Hanley 0-2. Subs used Cian Lawlor, Adam Murphy 1-0, Sean Kirwan, Conor McGrath, Rory Doyle, Killian Maher. Other subs: Owan O’Gorman, Adam Mullen, Conor Ryan, Ciaran Townsend, James Mcgrath.