Match Reports‎ > ‎

Good second half display enables Tinryland to hoover up Division 1 points against St. Andrew’s

posted 10 May 2018, 02:21 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland ran out comfortable winners at the end of a competitive contest for S.F.L. division 1 points at Rathcrogue on Tuesday last. After early dominance the home side found themselves four points ahead after 6 minutes courtesy of a Matthew O’Toole point and a cracking Paul Doyle goal following good play by centre forward Shane O’Neill. St. Andrews got on the scoresheet with a Darren Crooks point in the 10th minute which was matched at the other end by a Cormac Walshe score which still left four points separating the teams. St. Andrew’s then enjoyed their best spell of the game with a Cian Doyle goal in the 13th minute followed by points from John Doyle, Alan Beaton and two successfully converted frees from full forward Robbie Kane. Tinryland closed the first half scoring when Padraig Whelan converted a 40 metre free on the stroke of half time which left the home side trailing by two points. Half Time score St. Andrew’s 1-5 Tinryland 1-3

When referee Michael McNally re-started proceedings points were traded by Alan Beaton and Cormac Walshe and Robbie Kane for St. Andrew’s and Keith Jackson for Tinryland. The home team then upped the ante with a succession of points from Keith Jackson, John Murphy, Paul Doyle and Matthew O’Toole which edged the men in blue and white one point ahead mid-way through the second half. Cian Doyle slotted over a point to level matters once again but this score proved to be the last of the game for the Muinebheag side as Tinryland turned the screw with a superb Matthew O’Toole goal following excellent play by John Paul Moore, Rory Doyle, and Keith Jackson. With fresh legs being introduced Tinryland gradually pulled further clear scoring 5 more unanswered points via Shane O’Neill, Paul Doyle, Cormac Walshe (2) and Mark Morrissey to run out comfortable winners in the end. Full Time Tinryland 2-13 St. Andrew’s 1-8

Defenders John Murphy, Conor Byrne, Rory Doyle and John Paul Moore together with forwards Shane O’Neill, Matthew O’Toole, Cormac Walshe, Paul Doyle and mid-fielder Keith Jackson impressed for the winners who kicked 9 wides and had 8 different scorers.

St. Andrew’s who clocked up 7 wides  were best served by Darren Crooks, Andrew Casey, John Doyle, Jamie Whelan, Cian Doyle and Robbie Kane.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Conor Ryan, John Murphy 0-1, John Paul Moore, Rory Doyle, Conor Byrne, Adam Dunne, Keith Jackson 0-1, Mark Morrissey 0-1, Conor O’Toole, Shane O’Neill 0-1, Matthew O’Toole 1-2, Padraig Whelan 0-1, Paul Doyle 1-2, Cormac Walshe 0-4. Subs: Jack Lowry, Colm Kearney, Gregg Murphy, Padraig Delaney, Gary Fields, David Townsend.

St. Andrew’s: Ciaran Cunningham, Liam Cummins, David Miley, Leon Power, Darren Crooks 0-1, Andrew Casey, Martin Cummins, John Doyle 0-1, David Kennedy, Jamie Whelan, Alan Beaton 0-2, Liam Galway, Cian Doyle 1-1, Robbie Kane 0-3, Declan Salter. Subs: Alan Whelan, Keith Hickey.