Match Reports‎ > ‎

Great opening Round performance from Tinryland to defeat St Pats in J.F.C.

posted 3 Aug 2016, 11:31 by

   By Eamonn Byrne      

Tinryland Juniors continued where the seniors left off 2 days earlier when winning their opening game against highly fancied St. Patricks in the opening round of the J.F.C. (A) championship at McGrath Park Bagenalstown on Tuesday 2nd August. In similar fashion to the seniors the Tinryland 2nd team went 3 points up in the early stages courtesy of well taken points from Padraig Delaney (2) and midfielder John Murphy. St. Patricks responded with points from Johnny Purcell, William Doran and a brace from Aaron Campbell. Further Tinryland points from a James McGrath free and a trio from Alan Barrett, John Murphy and the returning Ciaran Larkin left the scoreboard reading 0-7 to 0-4 when referee David Hickey sounded the half time whistle.

When play resumed Ciaran Larkin for Tinryland and William Doran for the Slaneysiders shared early points. Tinryland then enjoyed another purple patch pulling 5 points clear after another Larkin brace and a Padraig Delaney point. St Pats then set about reducing the defecit and almost totally dominated the closing stages. Tinryland goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne brought off a string of top class saves during this period of play and all the Tullow team could muster was a further 2 points. Niall Barrett scored an insurance point for the men in blue and white in the closing stages. This left the final score Tinryland 0-11 St Patricks 0-8  

Tinryland had outstanding performers in man of the match Ciaran Byrne together with full backs Diarmuid McGuill, Peter Doran and Fionnan Burke. The half back line of Adam Dunne, Shane O’Neill and Fionnan Burke also put in a good shift while up front the main threat to the St. Pats defence were David Townsend, Padraig Delaney, and Ciaran Townsend.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Dermot McGuill, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Shane O’Neill, Adam Dunne, John Murphy 0-2, Adam Murphy, James McGrath 0-1, Alan Barrett 0-1, Ciaran Townsend, David Townsend, Padraig Delaney 0-3, Ciaran Larkin 0-3. Subs: Eamonn Murphy for Larkin 48mins, Niall Barrett 0-1 for Adam Murphy. 

St. Patricks: Seamus Tobin, Jamie Ansbro, Lee Kavanagh, Rory Jones, Shane Rohan, Alan O’Neill, Darren Butler, Eoin Doyle, Nick Nolan, Willie O’Brien, William Doran 0-3, Jack Ryan, Aaron Campbell 0-2, Johnny Purcell 0-2, Lorcan O’Toole 0-1. Subs: Padraig Murphy for Campbell HT, Aimean Maher for Butler HT, Ryan Malone for Jones 35 mins, Mike Byrne for O’Toole 45 mins.