Match Reports‎ > ‎

Great Start to Division 3 campaign by Tinryland Junior (A) team

posted 1 Apr 2016, 12:09 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Last year’s Junior (A) and Junior (B) championship runners up St. Patricks and Tinryland served up a great game in round 1 of the S.F.L div 3 at Rathcrogue on Thursday 31st march. The newly promoted home team included 7 U21 players in their starting 15 and were well worth their 6 point win after overcoming a 5 point defecit mid- way through the opening half.

In the opening quarter it looked like the more experienced Tullow side would prevail as they led by 1-5 to 0-4 after 15 minutes. The Tullow goal came as early as the 3rd minute following a mix up in the Tinryland defence. Carlow senior panellist Jack Kennedy was running the show at this stage scoring 3 points and linking well with goal scorer Amian Maher while the Slaneysiders mid-fielder Eoin Doyle was desperately unlucky not to score another goal after rattling the crossbar which would have put the Tullow men in a commanding position. Tinryland had got off to a perfect start with points from Padraic Whelan and Paul Doyle within 90 seconds of the throw in. Tinryland introduced another U21 player Adam Dunne into the fray in the 15th minute and their fight back started when Padraig Delaney slotted over a great point in the 17th minute.In the 18th minute a superb goal from Alan Barrett after great play by Ciaran Townsend and Padraic Whelan left the minimum between the teams. Four minutes later Rory Doyle slotted over the equaliser after good play by Adam Dunne and Paul Doyle. St Patricks regained the advantage with a lovely Lorcan O’Toole point in the 24th minute and after another point from Maher, O’Toole rattled the Tinryland net for his sides 2nd goal 4 minutes before the break which left Tullow 5 points ahead once again. Back came Tinryland with a wonderful goal from Peter Hennessy after good play by Ciaran Townsend and Gregg Murphy and when Gregg scored a point 2 minutes before the break following good play by Peter Doran and Conor McGrath the minimum separated the teams once again. The half ended with a setback for Tinryland when Paul Doyle received a harsh enough black card leaving the score 2-7 to 2-6 in the away sides favour at the break.

With David Townsend now in for Paul Doyle it took less than 2 minutes for the hoops to gain parity with a successful conversion from Padraic Whelan and when the same player repeated the dose 60 seconds later Tinryland regained the lead only for Jack Kennedy to level matters once again. Up stepped Peter Hennessy and after bursting through the Tullow defence he cracked home another wonderful goal after more good play by Ciaran Townsend. Tinryland were flying now and Cathal Gaffney who was magnificent throughout slotted over another point after linking well with Adam Dunne. Jack Kennedy replied with a point for St. Pats as Adam Mullen was introduced for Padraig Delaney for Tinryland. A free won by David Townsend was converted by Padraic Whelan to put 4 points between the teams and after another great score from Ciaran Townsend with 13 minutes remaining the home team looked to be well on the way to securing the points.  Kennedy rallied the Slaneysiders with a point but a brilliant point from Padraic Whelan after great play by the Townsend’s Ciaran and David stretch the lead back out to 5 once again. Killian Maher then replaced Liam Fitzpatrick as Tinryland battened down the hatches with a controlled defensive display. Alan Barrett made it a six point advantage with 5 minutes remaining as Dean Farrell replaced Gregg Murphy and the game ended with Padraic Whelan and Lorcan O’Toole trading points to leave the final score Tinryland 3-14 St. Patricks 2-11. The Junior (A) team will be back in action away to St Andrews on Thursday 7th April.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Liam Fitzpatrick, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Cathal Gaffney 0-1, Padraig Delaney 0-1, Owan O’Gorman, Peter Hennessy 2-0, Conor McGrath, Rory Doyle 0-1, Alan Barrett 1-1, Ciaran Townsend 0-1, Padraic Whelan 0-6 4f, Gregg Murphy 0-1, Paul Doyle 0-2. Subs Adam Dunne, David Townsend, Adam Mullen, Killian Maher, Dean Farrell.