Match Reports‎ > ‎

JFC B Tinryland V O'Hanrahan's

posted 15 Jun 2018, 01:36 by

By Eamonn Byrne

 Tinryland 3-11                                                          O’Hanrahans 0-10

Tinryland opened their J.F.C. (B) campaign with a comfortable win over O’Hanrahans at a wind- swept Rathcrogue on Wednesday last 13th June.

With a strong wind in their favour O’Hanrahans shaded matters in a low scoring first half. 

Gregg Murphy opened the Tinryland account in the 4th minute before Paul Clancy levelled matters 2 minutes later. Former senior star Colin Nolan edged the Blues ahead in the 11th minute with a point from a free before Joe Byrne replied for the home side following a scoreless 10 minute spell. The Blues then enjoyed their most productive period of the match scoring 3 points from Paul Condron, Peter Fagan and Paul Clancy before Gary Moran replied with a Tinryland point on the stroke of half time.

When play resumed Tinryland introduced Dean Farrell and Richard Whyte into the fray and within 10 minutes the men in blue and white hoops had taken the lead following well taken points from Joe Byrne, David O’Shea and Gary Moran. Paul Core and Harry Walker briefly restored the O’Hanrahans lead at the mid-way stage of the 2nd half but it was then that Tinryland went into overdrive. Using the strong wind to their advantage Tinryland went long and were rewarded with 2 goals and 4 points in a 10 minute spell. Goals from sub Richard Whyte and Gary Moran were the catalyst for Tinryland’s improving fortunes with Whyte scoring 1-2 in a 4 minute spell. The O’Hanrahans tried to stem the tide with 3 late points from their best player Colin Nolan but the icing was put on the Tinryland cake with a superb Dean Farrell goal just before referee Billy Fanning sounded the long whistle.

Outstanding for Tinryland were Colm Kearney, Peter Doran, Gary Scully, David O’Shea, Gregg Murphy, Dinny Farrell and Gary Moran together with subs Dean Farrell, Richard Whyte and Niall Barrett.

O’Hanrahans were best served by goalkeeper Sean O’Gorman, Terry Jones, Barry English, Colin Nolan, Chris Power, Peter Fagan and Paul Core.

Tinryland will be away to Eire Og in round 2 on Wednesday 27th June.

Tinryland: Lee Buggle, Colm Kearney, Peter Doran, Joey Ryan, Gary Scully, John Whyte, James Murphy, David O’Shea 0-1, Gregg Murphy 0-1, Joe Byrne 0-2, Jack Lowry, Dinny Farrell, Cathal Whelan, Padraig Delaney, Gary Moran 1-4. Subs: Richard Whyte 1-2, Dean Farrell 1-1, Niall Barrett, Fergal Kelly.

O’Hanrahans: Sean O’Gorman, Willie O’Reilly, Barry English, Sean Jones, Terry Jones, Niall Davis, Peter Fagan 0-1, Ger Brennan, Colin Nolan 0-4, Oisin Sinnott, Chris Power, Paul Clancy 0-2, Paul Condron 0-1, Paul Core 0-1, Harry Walker 0-1. Subs: Anthony Core, Patrick Carr.

Referee Billy Fanning (Ballon)