Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior B team clock up their win in Carlow S.F.L. Division 5 against Old Leighlin

posted 29 Apr 2014, 09:53 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland Junior B team put up their beat performance to date this season when they easily accounted for Old Leighlin in the Carlow S.F.L. division 5 in Rathcrogue on Monday evening 28th April. The Tinryland lads were never headed from the first 30 seconds when centre forward Padraig Whelan pointed. By the 8th minute the lads in blue and white had stretched into a six point lead following further points from Whelan again, Greg Murphy, Alan Kirwan, Andrew Hanly and John White. Old Leighlin finally got on the scoresheet when wing forward Paddy Deevy opened their account in the 16th minute. Tinryland never relented however and a great run from corner back Mark Lawler saw the minor player transfer to Mick Delaney who duly slotted over our 7th point.

Tinryland’s opening goal after 17minutes was a gem in both its creation and finish. David O’Shea who made an impact in defence transferred the ball to Padraig Whelan who passed to Eoin Fields. The Tinryland no. 10 gave Old Leighlin goalkeeper Eamonn Flynn no chance with his rasping shot which put us 9 points ahead at this stage. Another point from Mick Delaney stretched our advantage before Mick Moore rattled the Old Leighlin net after 25 minutes following good play by John Jackson. Old Leighlin then enjoyed a productive spell and in the space of 3 minutes just before half time centre forward David O’Leary scored two goals which left the half time scoreboard reading Tinryland 2-10 Old Leighlin 2-1.

It was more of the same when play resumed with Tinryland quickly scoring two points via the hard working John White. Padraig Whelan for Tinryland and Niall O’Brien for Old Leighlin then traded points before our 3rd goal arrived courtesy of Greg Murphy following good play from David O’Shea and Padraig Whelan. John White and Greg Murphy then added further  points to our tally before Alan Byrne capped a fine performance with Tinryland’s 4th goal following great play from Mick Moore who also had a fine game on Monday. The game then petered out to its inevitable conclusion with Tinryland adding a further six points via Eoin Fields (2), Garry Scully, Greg Murphy Padraig Whelan and Mark Lawlor. Old Leighlin managed one further point from full forward Martin Lynch before referee Billy Fanning sounded the long whistle. This was a great all round performance from Tinryland with 12 different players getting on the scoresheet and the 4 lads who did not score namely goalie Colm Nolan, full  back John Jackson centre back David O’Shea and wing back Adam Mullen all contributed greatly to the team’s best performance this year.

The Junior B team will be back in action on Monday next 5th May (Bank Holiday) with an away game in Ballon against Ballon at 7 30 p.m.

Tinryland: Colm Nolan, Mark Lawlor 0-1, John Jackson, Gary Scully 0-1, Adam Mullen, David O’Shea, Andrew Hanly 0-1, Alan Kirwan 0-1, Greg Murphy 1-3, John White 0-4, Padraig Whelan 0-5, Eoin Fields 1-2, Mick Moore 1-0, Mick Delaney 0-2, Alan Byrne 1-1.