Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior B team find league leaders Ballon too hot to handle in second half

posted 6 Jun 2015, 07:24 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland Junior B team narrowly missed out on a semi -final place in division 5 after failing to defeat unbeaten Ballon in the final league game played in Rathcrogue on Wednesday 3rd June. In theory Tinryland would have had to overcome a score difference of 45 points to advance to the semi- final but the team can be satisfied with their improved performances in this division that saw them record wins over Palatine, Old Leighlin, Ballinabranna and Palatine together with a draw with Fighting Cocks who also made the semi-finals.

In Wednesday’s game an upset looked on the cards in the opening 20 minutes as Tinryland with wind advantage led by 7 points at one stage with the highlight of that period a cracking goal from the much improved Killian Maher in the 22nd minute. Opening points from Eoin Fields, Peter Hennessy and Paul Doyle edged Tinryland 3 in front before Ballon’s opening score arrived in the 12th minute. Further points from Peter Hennessy, Niall Scully and Ciaran Larkin together with Killian Mahers goal edged Tinryland 6 clear and when Killian pointed 4 minutes before the break a shock looked on the cards. Ballon however are not unbeaten for nothing and they re-grouped just before half time to rattle a goal and 4 points to leave the interval score Tinryland 1-8 Ballon 1-7.

When referee Enda Hulton restarted the play it was all Ballon and they had pulled 4 points clear mid- way through the second half. All Tinryland could manage in this period was 3 points from Killian Maher, Peter Hennessy and Garry Scully. When the final whistle was sounded the scoreboard read Ballon 1-17 Tinryland 1-11.

All in all it was a good season for the Junior B’s and with at least 4 players missing on Wednesday this team can look forward to the championship when they will face neighbours Palatine in August.

Team: Colm Nolan, Niall Fitzpatrick, Conor Ryan, Cathal Whelan, Niall Scully 0-1, Seamus Curran, Eoin Fields 0-1, Garry Scully 0-1, Peter Hennessy 0-3, Ciaran Larkin 0-2, Paul Doyle 0-2, Rory Doyle, Mick Delaney, Killian Maher 1-1, Mick Moore.