Match Reports‎ > ‎

Late Tinryland Rally fails to win points in S.F.L. Division 3 V St. Andrews

posted 16 May 2012, 12:13 by

Late Tinryland Rally fails to win points in S.F.L. Division 3 V St. Andrews

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland went down to St Andrews by one goal in McGrath Park on Tuesday 15th May having staged a late rally after being 7 points in arrears with 8 minutes remaining.

Tinryland started slowly in this game and were dealt a blow as early as the 5th minute when full back Mark Dempsey was forced to retire with a hamstring injury.

Three points in arrears at this stage Tinryland opened their account in the 8th minute when Matthew O’Toole pointed following good work by Conor O’Brien and Padraig Whelan.

Garry Fields then raised a white flag to leave the minimum between the sides before St. Andrews stretched clear with a goal and a point by the 18th minute. Tinryland were competing well at this stage and scored 3 further points by the 25th minute courtesy of Cian Lawlor, Richard Whyte and Dean Farrell. Two further Bagenalstown points were matched by Matthew O’Toole and Dean Farrell to leave the half time score 1-8 to 0-7 in favour of the home side.

On the resumption St Andrews scored another point in the 34th minute with Matthew O’Toole replying with a free. With 10 minutes remaining St Andrews led by 1-14 to 0-10 and the game seemed out of reach for Tinryland. Dean Farrell then slotted over another point and with time running out Jack Lowry crashed the ball to the Bagenalstown net to leave only 3 points separating the sides. Tinryland had a great chance of levelling the match but Darren Murphy was narrowly wide and the home side took the points. Final score 1-14 to 1-11 in favour of St Andrews.

Tinryland can still make the League semi finals and  will be back in action on Tuesday 29th May with a home fixture against Mount Leinster Rangers followed by home fixtures with Ballinabranna on Tuesday 5th June, Naomh Eoin on Tuesday 12th June and Old Leighlin on Tuesday 19th June.

Tinryland Man of The Match: Patrick Townsend