Match Reports‎ > ‎

Leinster ladies J.F.C. Quarter Final

posted 11 Oct 2015, 02:23 by

By Eamonn Byrne

                              Bennekerry-Tinryland 6-11             Kilkenny City 2-7

Carlow Ladies champions Bennekerry-Tinryland progressed to the Leinster junior semi-final with a comfortable victory over Kilkenny City at the Dicksboro grounds in Kilkenny on Saturday last. The Carlow champions won this game in the first half against their youthful opponents who accounted for Tullamore in the 1st round with a succession of great scores including 5 well worked goals. After the home side had opened the scoring in the first minute corner forwards Leah Mullins opened the BT account in the 2nd minute with a cracking goal. Three quick points from Niamh Kelly (2) and Aoibhin Webb set the pattern for the first half and by the 20th minute the Carlow team led by 4-6 to 0-1 with Niamh O’Regan, Leah Mullins and Niamh Kelly all contributing goals.  Kilkenny City then began to show improvement tagging on 4 further points before the interval as Niamh Kelly scored another major for the Carlow representatives.

When the teams emerged for the 2nd half it was the home side that looked a completely transformed unit despite a numerical disadvantage having had a player sent to the sin bin. The Kilkenny side completely dominated the opening 15 minutes and their tally of 1-3 in that period did not reflect their dominance. The siege was eventually lifted in the 45th minute when mid-fielder Cliodhna Ni She and sub Roisin Byrne slotted over points and when Roisin Byrne scored her sides 6th goal 4 minutes before the end the Carlow girls could look forward to a home semi-final date with Dunboyne on Saturday next at 2 p.m.

Outstanding for Bennekerry-Tinryland were Deirdre Tomlinson, Elaine Ware, Christine Scully, Emma O’ Regan, Cliodhna Ni She, Niamh Kelly who scored 2-6, Katie Bullen and Leah Mullins.

Team: Shannen Cotter, Deirdre Tomlinson, Jane Bullen, Ciara Nolan, Elaine Ware, Christine Scully, Emma O’Regan, Cliodha Ni She 0-1, Liz Lowry, Niamh O’Regan 1-0, Emer Fahy, Niamh Kelly 2-6, Katie Bullen 0-1, Leah Mullins 2-0, Aoibhin Webb 0-2. Subs Roisin Brennan, Roisin Byrne 1-1, Paula Murphy, Niamh Redmond.