Match Reports‎ > ‎

Rathvilly too strong for Tinryland in opening S.F.L. Division 3 game

posted 30 Mar 2017, 09:35 by

    By Eamonn Byrne       

Rathvilly’s 2nd team proved too strong for Tinryland in the opening match of S.F.L. division 3 played at Rathcrogue on Tuesday 28th March. The Wicklow border side included a half dozen senior panellists in their line up and got off to the perfect start within 2 minutes of the throw in when the ball somehow ended up in the Tinryland net. Rathvilly increased that lead to 4 points in the 6th minute when corner forward Donal Kelly pointed before Richard Whyte opened the Tinryland account in the 8th minute following good play by Peter Hennessy. Rathvilly then tagged on 2 further points from their centre forward Jake Elliot and corner forward Donal Kelly before Tinryland responded with a Padraic Whelan point from a free in the 17th minute. Tinryland were finding it hard to break down the Rathvilly defence while at the other end Tinryland conceded 2 further points from Wesley Faulkner and Jake Elliot before Tinryland responded with points from Richard Whyte and Peter Hennessy. The final act of the first half was a Rathvilly point from a free by Donal Kelly which left the half time score Rathvilly 1-7 Tinryland 0-4.

Tinryland introduced Liam Fitzpatrick into the fray at half time and got off to the best possible start within 1 minute of the restart when Dean Farrell scored a great point following good work by David Townsend. This was as good as it got for the home side however and a further blow was dealt when David Townsend received his marching orders from referee Enda Hulton for verbals early in the 2nd half. Rathvilly continued to dominate using the extra man to their advantage and by the 50th minute had stretched the lead to 10 points following further scores by Donal Kelly, Wesley Faulkner, and Larry Farrell. Tinryland introduced Paul Doyle and Brian Farrell into the action but the Rathvilly tide could not be stemmed and the final score was Rathvilly 1-14 Tinryland 0-5. The next S.F.L. division 3 fixture is against Ballon on Tuesday 4th April at Rathcrogue.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Joey Ryan, Mark Dempsey, Conor Ryan, Shane O’Neill, John Paul Moore, Adam Mullen, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Keelan Gaffney, Padraic Whelan 0-1, Richard Whyte 0-2, Dean Farrell 0-1, Michael Dobosz, Padraig Delaney, David Townsend. Subs: Liam Firtzpatrick, Paul Doyle, Brian Farrell.