Match Reports‎ > ‎

S.F.L. Division 1 and Andy Murphy Shield final

posted 27 Mar 2018, 02:43 by
By Eamonn Byrne    


                                 Palatine 0-18                                       Tinryland 0-11

Palatine laid down a marker for more important battles in 2018 with a dominant second half display in the S.F.L. division 1 and Andy Murphy shield final at Rathcrogue on Sunday evening March 25th.

It was the home side that enjoyed the better of the first half exchanges despite Palatine scoring an opening brace of points via corner forward Conor Crowley and wing back Stephen O’Reilly.

Tinryland then enjoyed a productive spell scoring points from Peter Hennessy (2), Cormac Walshe (2), Niall Lowry, Rory Doyle and Diarmaid Walshe (2) which enabled the home side to lead by 0-8 to 0-4 at half time. The Tinryland defence were doing well at this stage keeping palatine at bay and linking well with the forwards.

It was a completely different affair in the second half and cheered on by a sizable away attendance Palatine upped the ante in a big way to score eleven unanswered points in a golden 20 minute spell.

Points from Conor Reynolds, Paul Reid and sub Andy Kehoe helped to open the floodgates and the home side were on the back burner for most of that second half. Palatine continued to clock up the points tally with Conor Crowley, the Reid brothers John and Paul, Conor Reynolds and Jamie Kenny all contributing to their final tally of 18 points. Tinryland could only manage 3 consolation points in the second half via Niall Lowry and Cormac Walsh (2).

After the game the Andy Murphy shield was presented to Palatine captain Tomas Kenny by Helen Whelan daughter of the late Andy Murphy.

Tinryland’s next game in division 1 will be a home tie with Kilbride on Sunday 8th April at 6.30 p.m.

Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, Conor Ryan, Conor Byrne, John Paul Moore, Rory Doyle 0-1, John Murphy, Adam Dunne, Peter Hennessy 0-2, Glen Doyle, Conor McGrath, Niall Lowry 0-2, Matthew O’Toole, Diarmaid Walshe 0-2, Conor O’Toole, Cormac Walshe 0-4. Subs Mark Morrissey, Ronan Curran, Shane Webb, Eoghan Hosey, Tommy Dunne.