Match Reports‎ > ‎

SFL Division 1 Tinryland vs Naomh Eoin

posted 14 May 2011, 15:35 by   [ updated 16 May 2011, 01:59 ]

Senior Football League Division1 

Date: Saturday 14 May 2011

Venue: Tinryland

Result: Tinryland 0-17    Naomh Eoin 2-9


by Enda Dunican

This will be remembered as a game of two square balls with both sides unhappy with refereeing decisions. The Myshall men started brighter taking full advantage of a very strong wind that saw many of Trevor O’Reilly’s kickouts being driven back towards his own goals. Two opening points from Naomh Eoin (one a sideline kick) were answered by two points from Tinryland’s Paul Broderick (one from a free). On the 13th minute Naomh Eoin’s full-forward Brian Murphy (who proved to be a thorn in the side of the Tinryland defence) pounced on an opportunist goal by fisting home a rebound from the upright. He added two more frees and the sides entered the half time break with Naomh Eoin leading my 1-7 to 5 points.


As often happens, the ferocity of the wind was significantly reduced in the second half and made the Tinryland task more difficult with the Myshall men appearing to get a second wind. A barrage of 4 points from the home side was answered by that man Brian Murphy who smashed home a penalty in the 21st minute. However Tinryland amassed a total of 12 points in the second half and squeezed out a well-deserved two point win. The main talking points of the match were the square ball incidents given at each end and ultimately balanced each other out. Tinryland’s ace marksman Paul Broderick (just back from injury) amassed an impressive total of 10 points and gave an almost flawless performance from the placed ball. Cormac Walshe who had a frustrating first half by his own standards won a huge amount of ball in the second half and pitched in with 3 valuable points. Despite this shaky start after the break in the league, the Tinryland side can only improve as we move closer to the business end of the season.

Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, Kevin Barrett, Peter Doran, Danny Moran , Jeff Sutton,John Paul Moore, Conor Byrne, Shane Redmond, Keith Jackson, Padraig Townsend,Robbie Power, Cormac Walshe, Pau Broderick, Evan Doyle, Niall Barret

Subs: Darren Murphy, Padraig Delaney, Jack Lowry, Ian Scully


 Naomh Eoin: Ronan Nolan, Eoin Rea, Michael Mullins, Martin Murphy, Adam McDonagh, Kevin Foley, Eanna Kavanagh, Martin Clowry, Adam Kenny, Seamus Smithers, John Nolan, Ciaran Smithers, Ross Smithers, Brian Murphy, Colin Rea

Subs: DJ Regan