Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Advance to U-16 Final

posted 8 Oct 2013, 10:36 by
By Eamonn Byrne
U16 Football Div 1A semi final

                        Tinryland   6-3                        Muinebheag 0-11

The old adage that goals win games was never more true when Tinryland U16 footballers qualified to meet Eire Og in the Co. final on Saturday 19th October at the expense of a gallant Muinebheag in Molaise Park Old Leighlin on Monday 7th October.

When the final whistle sounded in this amazing game Muinebheag had outscored Tinryland by eleven scores to nine but crucially Tinryland had bagged six goals during the hour which contributed to their 10 point winning margin.

Muinebheag were first to score when wing forward Jamie Clarke slotted over a point in the 2nd minute. Tinryland were quick to respond with Dean Dunne crashing the ball to the Muinebheag net in the 4th minute. Michael Gardiner for Muinebheag and James McGrath for Tinryland then traded points before centre forward Stephen Crowe left the minimum separating the sides when he pointed after 13 minutes of play.

Tinryland’s second goal then arrived after great fielding by their midfielder Peter Hennessy who transferred to James McGrath who rattled the Muinebheag net.

Instead of wilting however Muinebheag settled down to dominate proceedings for the next 10 minutes. Points from Jamie Clarke and a trio from full forward Liam Galway left matters all square once again entering the closing stages of the opening half.

It was then that Tinryland struck for 2 important goals with James McGrath and Ciaran Larkin both raising green flags to leave the half time score Tinryland 4-1 Muinebheag 0-7.

When play resumed the threatened rain finally arrived and Muinebheag’s task was made all the harder when James McGrath scored his 3rd goal and Tinryland’s 5th to stretch the lead out to nine points. That lead increased to 13 points when Dean Dunne scored his 2nd major following good work from Seamus Curran and Conall Dunne slotted over a point. Muinebheag were then thrown a lifeline when Tinryland centre forward Conall Dunne picked up his second yellow card and there was a quick response when Michael Gardiner pointed to reduce the margin to 12 points. The town then spurned a great goal chance when Darragh Lee’s effort was inches wide and after Stephen Crowe had scored another point the same player missed a gilt edged chance of a goal which would have reduced the margin even further. Taking heart from these misses Tinryland went back upfield and after winning a ’45 Peter Hennessy capped a fine performance with Tinryland’s last score of the game. The match ended with Muinebheag scoring the final points of the game when substitute Sean Haughney and full forward Liam Galway both raised white flags.

Outstanding for Tinryland were John Murphy, Dylan Reamsbottom, Conor Ryan, Peter Hennessy, Ciaran Larkin, Conor McGrath, Dean Dunne and James McGrath.

Muinebheag had prominent players in Jordan Condon, Adam Kehoe, Alan Whelan, Andrew Kane, Jamie Clarke, Michael Gardiner and Liam Galway.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Bradleigh Nolan, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney, Dylan Reamsbottom, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Niall Lowry, Ciaran Larkin 1-0, Conall Dunne 0-1, Conor McGrath, Dean Dunne 2-0, James McGrath 3-1, Brendan Quirke-Bolt. Subs Seamus Curran, Eamonn Murphy, Rory Doyle, Killian Maher.

Muinebheag: Keith Hickey, Jordan Condon, Dylan Nolan, Adam Kehoe, Andrew Casey, Alan Whelan, Darren Crooks, Andrew Kane, Roy Sheehy, Jamie Clarke 0-2, Stephen Crowe 0-2, Michael Gardiner 0-2, Darragh Lee, Liam Galway 0-4, Danny Doyle. Subs: Sean Haughney 0-1, Craig Hickey, Jamie Somers.