Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland crash out of Michael Lyng Motors S.F.C. after lack lustre performance against M.L.R.

posted 19 Sep 2018, 12:54 by

By eamonn Byrne PRO

On a day of sporting high’s and low’s and numerous shocks Tinryland supporters were on the receiving end of another shock when the senior team exited the championship against Mount Leinster Rangers on Saturday 15TH September.  Most pundits fancied a Tinryland win in this game after some good performances in what was perceived to be the strongest group. Rangers had barely made the quarter final from group 2 having to rely on a single point difference when they gained their only group point against Kilbride.

The dual club started well holding on to the ball in the opening stages but it was the men in blue and white that got on the scoreboard first when full back John Murphy burst forward to slot over the opening point in the 7th minute. The Borris-Ballymurphy based team opened their account with a point from a 45 by Eddie Byrne in the 13th minute and despite strong play from Tinryland it was Rangers that dominated the next 10 minutes scoring a point from play via John Nolan and another one from an Eddie Byrne free in the 17th minute. Try as they might Tinryland found it difficult to break down the South Carlow team who sometimes had 14 players defending. Glen Doyle with a wonderful point in the 22nd minute finally lifted the siege after good play by Adam Dunne and Tinryland began to enjoy themselves when John Murphy levelled matters after a pass from Conor Byrne.  Five minutes later Tinryland supporters finally began to feel happy when centre back Shane Redmond crashed the ball past the Rangers keeper after good play by Paul Broderick and Conor O’Toole. It got even better in the 29th minute when Cormac Walshe extended the lead to 4 points after a passing movement involving himself, Paul Broderick and Conor O’Toole. The half time whistle then sounded to leave the scoreboard reading 1-4 to 0-3 in Tinryland’s favour

When play resumed it was Rangers that made the early running and veteran Willie Hickey reduced the margin to 3 points after only 30 seconds of play. Tinryland then introduced Cian Moore into action for Glenn Doyle as Eddie Byrne successfully converted another free. Five minutes had elapsed when disaster struck for Tinryland when a kick out went straight to Rangers player James Kelly who seized his opportunity to crash the ball past Ciaran Byrne. With Danny Moran replacing Adam Dunne and Mark Morrissey replacing Conor O’Toole Tinryland went on the attack and Paul Broderick slotted over a free to level matters in the 38th minute. Tinryland then regained the lead in the 40th minute when Niall Lowry pointed after a Danny Moran pass. 2 minutes later Diarmaid Walshe had a gilt edged goal chance for Tinryland but he shot wide as Rangers replaced Luke Roche with Tony Lawlor. Taking heart from Tinryland’s miss Eddie Byrne successfully converted another free and it got even better for the M.L.R. men when Conor Fenlon and Eddie Byrne combined for another goal. Tinryland heads began to drop now and by the 49th minute the ball was back in the Tinryland net as Rangers extended their advantage to 7 points. Cathal Gaffney and Paul Doyle then entered the fray replacing Cormac Walshe and Paul Broderick as Eddie Byrne slotted over another point for an 8 point advantage for Rangers. With 5 minutes remaining Diarmaid Walshe reduced the margin to 7 points when he raised a white flag after M.L.R. sub Chris Nolan was Black carded. Tinryland then threw the kitchen sink at Rangers but the men from the south held out until Shane Redmond found the net with almost the last phase of play.  Final score Mount Leinster Rangers 3-8 Tinryland 2-7.

Tinryland’s wait for a 16th Co. title now extends to 38 years.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, John Paul Moore, John Murphy, Adam Dunne, Rory Doyle, Shane Redmond, Cian Lawlor, Conor Byrne, Glenn Doyle, Cormac Walshe, Matthew O’Toole, Niall Lowry, Paul Broderick, Diarmaid Walshe, Conor O’Toole. Subs: Danny Moran, Cian Moore, Mark Morrissey, Cathal Gaffney, Paul Doyle.