Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Ease to Victory in Tile N’ Style U14 Div. 2B Final

posted 5 Oct 2014, 05:38 by

By Eamonn Byrne

                               Tinryland 7-14                                                        Kildavin-Clonegal 2-1

Tinryland u14 footballers had a comfortable win in the Tile N’ Style division 2B final played in McGrath Park on Sunday last. Early goals from Mark Johnson, Paddy Regan, and Lee Hutton together with points from Jonah Dunne and another Evan McGuire goal set the boys in blue and white on the road to victory. When Kildavin-Clonegal proved a threat up front the Tinryland defence led by Jack Murphy, Eoin Gannon, and Cormac O’Brien kept the Wexford border team at bay. Tinryland continued to press early in the second half led by man of the match Ronan Curran before Kildavin-Clonegal enjoyed a mini revival sparked by two wonderful goals scored by Liam McGill.

Late in the game Tinryland put the icing on the cake with another goal from Mark Walshe and points from Denny Farrell, Ronan Curran, and Mark Johnson. Kildavin –Clonegal had impressive players in Liam McGill, Niall Hickey, Philip Byrne, Robert St. Ledger and Aaron Dobbs.

Tinryland: Joe Walton, Brian McGrath, Oisin Byrne, Jack Murphy, Cormac O’Brien, Eoin Gannon 0-1, Donnon Burke, Denny Farrell 0-1, Ronan Curran 0-4, Jonah Dunne 0-3, Mark Johnson 2-3, Paddy Regan 1-1, Evan McGuire 1-0, Lee Hutton 1-0, Mark Walshe 2-0, Sam Byrne.

Kildavin-Clonegal: Killian Coleman, Rowan Deane, Philip Byrne, Stephen Carroll, Kevin Sheppard, Robert St. Ledger, Richard Byrne, Niall Hickey, Liam McGill 1-1, Thomas Jeffers, Aaron Dobbs 0-1, Dan Smith, Adam Jeffers, Tom Sheppard, Pierce Deane