Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland edge out Old Leighlin in S.F.L. Division 3

posted 3 May 2017, 04:18 by

By Eamonn Byrne

An opportunist 25th minute goal by Tinryland’s full forward Padraic Whelan proved to be the difference between these two evenly matched teams in Rathcrogue on Tuesday last. 

The home side scored first when wing forward David Townsend pointed in the 6th minute but a succession of points from Declan Kelly, Eric Nolan, John Ryan and Peter Brophy stretched Old Leighlin into a 3 point lead mid-way through the opening half. Tinryland rallied with points from Padraic Whelan and Padraig Townsend before Whelans goal gave the home side a lead they never relinquished. Tinryland led by 4 points at the interval following further points from David Townsend,, Padraig Townsend and Padraig Whelan with Paddy Deevy notching Old Leighlin’s final first half point.

Half time score Tinryland 1-6, Old Leighlin 0-5

Old Leighlin began the 2nd half in determined mood scoring 2 quick points via Gearoid Foley and Paddy Deevy but Tinryland replied with 2 points from Whelan. The Tinryland goal had a number of let off’s at this stage and the Old Leighlin men were denied on 3 separate occasions by superb goalkeeping from Co. U21 custodian Ciaran Byrne. 

Old Leighlin introduced Mark Brennan and David Gahan into the fray in an attempt to level matters but the Tinryland defence held out with both sides trading a brace of points in the closing stages.

Outstanding for the winners were Ciaran Byrne, Conor Ryan, John Paul Moore, Shane O’Neill, Peter Hennessy, Michael Dobosz and Padraic Whelan. Old Leighlin’s most prominent players were Declan Kelly, David Dowling, Barry Hayes, Brendan Kinsella, John Ryan and Paddy Deevy.

Final score Tinryland 1-10 Old Leighlin 0-11

Tinryland have 2 remaining games in the league with an away fixture to Leighlinbridge in Ballinaboley on Tuesday 16th May at 7.30 p.m. and a home game with our neighbours Palatine on Tuesday 23rd May at 7.30 p.m. 

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Dylan Byrne, Conor Ryan, Joey Ryan, Liam Fitzpatrick, Mark Dempsey, John Paul Moore, Shane O’Neill, Peter Hennessy (0-1)45, Michael Dobosz (0-1), Padraig Townsend (0-2), David Townsend (0-2)1f, Padraig Delaney, Padraig Whelan (1-4)3f, John Whyte. Subs: John Jackson, Adam Mullen.

Old Leighlin: Keith Coffey, Ollie Meaney, Aidan Nolan, Liam Coughlan, Richie Burke, John Hayden, Declan Kelly (0-2), Peter Brophy (0-1), Brendan Kinsella (0-1), Eric Nolan (0-1),David Dowling, Barry Hayes, Gearoid Foley (0-1), John Ryan (0-1), Paddy Deevy (0-4)1f. Subs: David Gahan, Mark Brennan, Martin Lynch.