Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Junior (A) team maintain 100% record in Division3

posted 15 Apr 2016, 07:49 by

      By Eamonn Byrne                 

Tinryland Junior (A) team clocked up their 3rd successive win in division 3 on Thursday 14th April with a comfortable win over near neighbours Palatine. Tinryland made life difficult for themselves in the opening half when kicking 9 wides and 5 balls into Pal goalkeeper Cormac Holloway’s hands. As a result the men in blue and white only led by 3 points when Rathvilly referee Brian Deering sounded the half time whistle. The home side led by the minimum after 20 minutes following 3rd and 8th minute points from the lively David Townsend while Padraic Whelan gave Tinryland a lead they never relinguished with a lovely point in the 21st minute. Palatine kept in touch with 2 Eoin McMahon points after 5 and 17 minutes while the end of the first half saw an improvement in the Tinryland scoring rate. In this period Tinryland scored 3 points in a 2 minute spell from Ciaran Larkin, David Townsend and sub Dean Farrell who made an impact when he was introduced after 20 minutes. Tinryland did well in defence in that opening half with man of the match Shane O’Neill being well supported by goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne together with Peter Doran, Liam Fitzpatrick, Cathal Gaffney, Dylan Byrne and Adam Mullen. Half time score Tinryland 0-6 Palatine 0-3.

When the 2nd half began Tinryland showed their intentions almost immediately scoring a point within 60 seconds of the throw in via Paul Doyle after good play by Cathal Gaffney and Gregg Murphy. Pal centre forward Darragh Moran replied with a point but the Tinryland lead was extended to 6 points after a well worked Gregg Murphy goal following good play by Dean Farrell and Conor McGrath. With Peter Hennessy and McGrath lording it at midfield Tinryland extended the lead further with a succession of wonderful points from Padraic Whelan (free), Ciaran Larkin (2), Shane O’Neill, Paul Doyle, Dean Farrell and Larkin again to leave the scoreboard reading 1-14 to 0-5 with 15 minutes remaining. John Whyte then replaced Padraic Whelan who picked up a dead leg. Pakey O’Toole and Darragh Byrne added points for the Cnoc Arda men in this spell but it was Tinryland that cruised to the finish scoring a further 2 points via Dean Farrell and Paul Doyle before the selectors emptied the bench sending on Brian Mullen, Jack Lowry, John Jackson, and Cathal Whelan.

Final score Tinryland 1-16 Palatine 0-8. The Junior (A) team will be back in action on Thursday next 21st April away to Rathvilly in Fr. Ryan Park at 7.15 p.m.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Dylan Byrne, Peter Doran, Liam Fitzpatrick, Cathal Gaffney, Shane O’Neill 0-1, Adam Mullen, Peter Hennessy, Conor McGrath, Padraig Delaney, Padraig Whelan 0-2 1 f, Ciaran Larkin 0-4, Gregg Murphy 1-1, Paul Doyle 0-3, David Townsend 0-3. Subs: Dean Farrell 0-2, John Whyte, Brian Mullen, Jack Lowry, John Jackson, Cathal Whelan.

Palatine: Cormac Holloway, Kevin Hanley, Billy Murphy, Paddy Carroll, Brian O’Mahony, Dylan Cotter, Darragh Carroll, Chris O’Brien, Pakie O’Toole 0-1, John Kenny, Darragh Moran 0-2, Karl Rennick, Eoin McMahon 0-3, Sean Brennan, Conor Cloonan 0-2. Sub Alan Hosey