Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Junior A team move into contention for top 4 spot in S.F.L. Div 3

posted 9 May 2012, 06:30 by

Tinryland Junior A team move into contention for top 4 spot in S.F.L. Div 3

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland junior A team put themselves in line for a top 4 spot in the S.F.L. Div 3 with a comprehensive win over Eire Og   at Rathcrogue on Tuesday 8th May. Tinryland may have been flattered by the winning scoreline of 5 22 to 0 10 but the result was never in doubt after the opening ten minutes when Tinryland led by 2-5 to 0-1. During the early stages the home side were on fire with Dean Farrell opening the scoring after only 20 seconds following good work by Padraig Whelan.  John Kelly and Dean Farrell both helped themselves to goals within 60 seconds before P.J. Murphy and the returning Richard Whyte both got on the score sheet with Whyte adding another point in the 9th minute. Tinryland continued to pile up the scores despite an Eire Og  rally with Garry Fields, Padraig Whelan, Matthew O’Toole and John Kelly all raising white flags before Eddie Dowling found the Eire Og net for Tinryland’s 3rd goal to leave the half time score

3-12 to 0-4 in Tinryland’s favour. The 2nd half began with another point from Matthew O’Toole and Tinryland sub Conor O’Brien then made an instant impact after his introduction when he slotted over 2 quick points in the 35th and 36th minutes .O’Toole and O’Brien scored further points in the 39th and 40th minutes with Padraig Whelan and Garry Fields also getting in on the act to leave the score 3-21 to 0-6 with 12 minutes remaining. Another brief Eire Og rally yielded 3 points but the icing was put on the cake with 2 great Tinryland goals from Mark Dempsey and Conor O’Brien to leave the final score 5-22 to 0-10.Eleven different Tinryland players scored during the match.

Tinryland had outstanding players in Mark Dempsey, Cian Lawlor, Paddy browne, Jack Lowry, Padraig Whelan, Patrick Townsend, Matthew O’Toole, John Brick Farrell, John Kelly and sub Conor O’Brien.

Team: Colm Nolan, P.J.Murphy 0-1, Mark Dempsey 1-0, Paddy Browne, Cian Lawlor, Jack Lowry, John Farrell, Patrick Townsend 0-1, Padraig Whelan 0-3 , Eddie Dowling1-0, Matthew O’Toole 0-6, Dean Farrell 1-1, Garry Fields 0-2, Richard Whyte 0-3, John Kelly 1-1. Subs: Conor O’Brien 1-4, Jeff Abbott, David O’Neill.

Man of the match Matthew O’Toole