Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Junior B team find St. Patricks hard to handle in Bro Leo Park

posted 8 May 2015, 08:14 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland Junior B team travelled to Tullow to take on St. Patricks in round 6 of Division 5 on Wednesday 6th May.  The first 15 minutes of this game was evenly contested with St. Pats shading matters by 1-2 to 1-1 with Conall Dunne scoring the Tinryland goal after centre forward Lee Byrne had scored the opening goal for the home side after 7 minutes. The latter 15 minutes of the first half saw the floodgates open with the home team scoring 4 goals in a 9 minute spell via Paul Canavan, Blain Cosgrave and Willie O’Brien (2). At the other end Tinryland found it difficult to hit the target due to a stern Tullow defence and the men in blue and white could only manage 2 points in the entire half from Rory Doyle 10th minute and Killian Maher 4 minutes before the interval. During this period Tinryland kicked 10 wides and when referee Jimmy Lawlor sounded the half time whistle the scoreboard read St. Patricks 5-3 to 1-2 in favour of the Slaneysiders.

Tinryland began the 2nd half in more positive mode scoring 3 points in the opening 8 minutes from Mick Delaney, Killian Maher and Barry Power. At the other end goals continued to be leaked and a further two from Rory Jones and sub Noel Goss with his first touch gave Tinryland a mountain to climb with 20 minutes left on the clock. St. Pats added a further 5 points to their tally in the last quarter while Tinryland scored a consolation goal from centre back Seamus Curran together with a point from Cathal Whelan before referee Lawlor blew the long whistle. Sean Kirwan, Rory Doyle Seamus Curran and Garry Scully were Tinryland’s best performers on a night that will be quickly forgotton.

Final score St. Patricks 7-10 Tinryland 2-6. Tinryland have 3 games left in this division against Ballinabranna, Ballon and Fighting Cocks

Team: Colm Nolan, Adam Nolan, Sean Kirwan, Darragh Townsend, Rory Doyle 0-1,   Seamus Curran 1-0,  Niall Scully, Barry Power 0-1, Garry Scully, Owen Fields, Killian Maher 0-2, Cathal Whelan 0-1, Alan Byrne, Conall Dunne 1-0, Mick Delaney 0-1.