Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland minors championship hopes dented by Palatine in Bennekerry

posted 30 Aug 2015, 02:57 by

    By Eamonn Byrne        

Holders Tinryland suffered a severe setback in this year’s race for the Pat McKelvie cup when they were comprehensively defeated by a slick moving Palatine in Bennekerry on Thursday 27th August.

Only a mathematical miracle can now keep Tinryland in this year’s championship having already lost out to Rathvilly, Mount Leinster Rangers and Eire Og (walk over)

It all began so well for Tinryland in the opening quarter of this game when points from Ciaran Larkin, Niall Lowry, Conor McGrath and Dean Dunne in the opening eleven minutes gave the impression that Tinryland would triumph.

The game then dramatically changed in the 12th minute when Palatine scored a freak goal when Tinryland goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne had his clearance blocked by Conor Reynolds and the ball ended up in the Tinryland net. This score lifted the Cnoc Arda boys and between the 13th and 21st minutes they added 1-4 without reply including another opportunist goal from Brian O’Mahony that deceived Ciaran Byrne. A brief rally from Tinryland saw Rory Doyle slot over a point after good work from Ciaran Larkin, Dean Dunne, Killian Maher and Conall Dunne and when Niall Lowry converted a free and a 45 in the 28th and 29th minutes hopes were high for a Tinryland victory once again with only 3 points now separating the sides.

This was as good as it got however as Palatine took heart when the cross bar saved them from a Dean Dunne goal and sweeping up field they scored their 3rd goal via Conor Reynolds to lead at half time by 3-5 to 0-7. Tinryland were then given a mountain to climb when full forward Killian Maher was red carded for an off the ball incident just before John Hickey blew the half time whistle.

When play resumed it got even worse for the boys in blue and white as Palatine rattled the Tinryland net with a Niall Cawley goal and this game was well over as a contest despite consolation scores from Niall Lowry and Ciaran Larkin. Final score Palatine 5-10 Tinryland 0-11.

The minors have one more game against Michael Davitts on Monday next  31st August but it will take freakish results from other games in the championship to keep Tinryland’s slim hopes of progressing further alive.

Team: Ciaran Byrne, Cuan Burke, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney 0-1, Rory Doyle 0-1, Niall Lowry 0-5, Conor McGrath 0-1, Dylan Byrne, Adam Mullen, Ciaran Larkin 0-2, Conall Dunne, Killian Maher, Dean Dunne 0-1. Subs Bradleigh Nolan, Odhran Keenan, Sean Regan, Cormac Kelly, Rory Dunbar, Seamus Curran.