Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Minors open their championship campaign with a comfortable victory

posted 29 Jun 2016, 08:34 by

 By eamonn Byrne


Tinryland minor footballers cleared the first hurdle in this year’s Carlow M.F.C. (B) with a comfortable victory over Naomh Eoin Myshall at Rathcrogue on Tuesday 27th June. After a competitive opening 15 minutes when the lead changed hands on four occasions Tinryland took the game by the scruff of the neck in a five minute spell mid- way through the half when they rattled the Myshall net 3 times between the 16th and 21st minutes.  Naomh Eoin opened the scoring after only 30 seconds when corner forward Riven Harman slotted over a point before Keelan Gaffney levelled matters 2 minutes later with a successful free which was won by the lively Michael Dobosz. Ronan Curran then edged Tinryland ahead for the 1st time with a beautiful point after great play by Conor Ryan and Keelan Gaffney. Myshall regained the advantage with a goal from full forward Jamie Kavanagh after the ball rebounded off the upright. Tinryland knew they had a challenge on their hands at this stage and they responded in positive fashion by scoring three points all via the excellent Ronan Curran between the 10th and 13th minutes. Another Keelan Gaffney point was the catalyst for Tinryland to up the ante and they did so in spectacular fashion by scoring 3 goals in a 5 minute spell. The opening goal was brilliantly finished by Rory Doyle after great play by Keelan Gaffney, Tommy Dunne, Aubrey Bradley and Michael Dobosz. Four minutes later the ball was back in the Myshall net when Aubrey Bradley finished a great delivery by Rory Doyle while 60 seconds later the first half hat trick was completed when Michael Dobosz raised another green flag after more good play by full forward Bradley. The first half scoring was completed when Rory Doyle and Keelan Gaffney added 2 further points while Naomh Eoin mid-fielder Cathal Treacy closed his sides first half account on the stroke of half time with a successful conversion of a dead ball. Half time score Tinryland 3-8  Naomh Eoin Myshall 1-2.

When Clonmore referee Jimmy Lawlor re-started proceedings Tinryland extended their advantage with a Michael Dobosz point. The Myshall boys then began to play their best football of the match. In a 10 minute spell between the 38th and 48th minutes Naomh Eoin added 1-3 to their tally without reply with a goal from Sian Harman and points from Michael Kavanagh, Harman and Cathal Treacy. Michael Dobosz stemmed the Myshall flow when he pointed in the 49th minute but Naomh Eoin remained competitive with 3 further points via Michael Kavanagh, Riven Harman and Cathal Treacy to leave 8 points separating the teams with 7 minutes remaining. The closing stages of the game saw Tinryland awake from their mini slumber and a brilliantly executed Michael Dobosz goal following great play by Conor Ryan, Cuan Burke and Keelan Gaffney was followed by another major from Ronan Curran after more great play by Dobosz. Final score Tinryland 5-12 Naomh Eoin 2-7.

Tinryland who play O’Hanrahans in round 2 on Monday 11th June had excellent performers in Cormac Kelly at full back, Cuan Burke, Tommy Dunne, Conor Ryan, Keelan Gaffney, Rory Doyle, while the full forward line of Ronan Curran, Aubrey Bradley and Michael Dobosz scored 4-7 between them. Naomh Eoin had outstanding players in Tadgh Daly, Padraig Slye, Cathal Treacy, Jamie Smithers, Sian Harman and Jamie Kavanagh.  

Tinryland: Cian Nolan, Lee Kane, Cormac Kelly, Luke Fleming, Cuan Burke, Tommy Dunne, Fergal Kelly, Conor Ryan, Keelan Gaffney 0-4, Alan Grogan, Rory Doyle 1-1, Eoin Hosey, Ronan Curran 1-4, Aubrey Bradley 1-0, Michael Dobosz 2-3.Subs Dominic Rice, Rory Moore.

Naomh Eoin-Myshall: Damien Jordan, Stephen Treacy, Ross Foley, Anthony O’Sullivan, Gavin Rutchiszco, David Nolan, Tadgh Daly, Padraig Slye, Cathal Treacy 0-3, Eoghan Hosey, Jamie Smithers, Michael Kavanagh 0-2, Riven Harman 0-1, Jamie Kavanagh 1-0, Sian Harman 1-1. Sub Donal Jordan.