Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Minors overcome determined O’Hanrahans to remain unbeaten In M.F.C. (B)

posted 8 Sep 2016, 02:18 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland minors finished off the league stages of this year’s M.F.C. (B) with a comfortable victory in the end over the home side in Deerpark on Monday 5th September. In a game of eleven goals the youthful O’Hanrahans certainly put it up to Tinryland who conceded 3 first half goals to the Blues. Only 5 minutes had been played when the Blues scored their first goal via Joe Doran and by the 11th minute led by 2-2 to 3 points with Tinryland’s scorers being Eoin Hosey, Keelan Gaffney and Ronan Curran. The Blues continued to be competitive and with centre forward Keelan Lacey and corner forward Joe Doran pulling the strings they managed a 3rd goal by the 16th minute in response to Michael Dobosz’s opening goal for Tinryland 2 minutes earlier. Points from O’Hanrahans wing forward Padraic Mannion and Tinryland’s Keelan Gaffney were shared in the 23rd and 24th minutes before a good move involving Cuan Burke and Conor Brennan resulted in a Rory Moore point for Tinryland to leave the half time scoreboard reading O’Hanrahans 3-3 Tinryland 1-7.

When referee Enda Hulton re-started proceedings O’Hanrahans consolidated their advantage with a Keelan Lacey point. This was the cue for Tinryland to finally wake up from their slumbers and a wonderful Ronan Curran point following good play by Rory Dunbar and Michael Dobosz was followed by a point from midfielder Jonathon Curran to leave the minimum separating the sides with 25 minutes remaining. O’Hanrahans goalkeeper Andrew Murphy then made a wonderful save from Michael Dobosz but the tide was turning in Tinryland’s favour no doubt bolstered by half time substitutions Eamonn Murphy and Fergal Kelly. Keelan Gaffney rattled the blues net in the 36th minute after good play by Tommy Dunne and Jonathon Curran, while sixty seconds later Eoin Hosey scored a superb individual goal to put Tinryland 5 points clear.  Jonathon Curran for Tinryland and Patrick Fitzgerald for O’Hanrahans then traded points before the cross bar denied the blues a 4th goal mid- way through the second half. Tinryland then began to draw clear with Michael Dobosz scoring his second goal after good play by Tommy Dunne and Dinny Farrell but the blues replied almost immediately when a defensive error let the town team in for their 4th goal to reduce the margin back to 5 points once again. With 10 minutes remaining Tinryland regained their composure and Jonathon Curran who had a good 2nd half put Keelan Gaffney through for his teams 5th goal and this was quickly followed by a great Conor Brennan major after a lot of the donkey work was done by Tommy Dunne. The game ended with further Tinryland points from Rory Dunbar and sub Luke Fleming before O’Hanrahans sub Justin Kehoe despatched the ball past Cian Nolan from the penalty spot for the home team’s final major. Final score Tinryland 6-12 O’Hanrahans 5-6

Tinryland: Cian Nolan, Cuan Burke, Cormac Kelly, Shea Byrne, Dinny Farrell, Tommy Dunne, Rory Dunbar 0-1, Keelan Gaffney 2-3, Jonathon Curran 0-2, Alan Grogan, Conor Brennan 1-0, Ronan Curran 0-3, Eoin Hosey 1-1, Michael Dobosz 2-0, Rory Moore 0-1. Subs: Eamonn Murphy, Lee Kane, Fergal Kelly, Luke Fleming 0-1.