Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Open Their Account in SFL Div 1 With a Win

posted 7 Apr 2013, 13:52 by   [ updated 21 Apr 2013, 12:56 ]
Tinryland 1-11 MLR 2-5
By Eamonn Byrne
Tinryland Senior footballers made it a clean sweep for club teams this weekend when they emerged with a three point victory against Mount Leinster Rangers in a competitive first round Division 1 game in Borris on Sunday the 7th April.Tinryland were quickly off the mark when Cathal O Toole and Glen Doyle both pointed within 2 minutes of the throw in but Tinryland were rocked back to reality when the ball ended up in the Tinryland net following a goalmouth scramble in the 4th minute. Rangers then pulled 2 points clear when centre forward Denis Murphy slotted over a point in the 9th minute.
A great Ian Scully point in the 13th minute left the minimum between the sides before Michael Doyle raised a white flag for the home side to put them two ahead once again. Rangers were getting to grips with the game now and when midfielder Gary Kelly crashed home a goal mid way through the first half, Tinryland certainly knew they were in a game. In fairness to the lads they did not panic and a great individual goal from Matthew O Toole in the 17th minute together with superb points from Glen Doyle, Jeff Sutton and Cathal O Toole left the boys in blue and white leading by 1-6 to 2-2 at half time.
During the interval Tinryland introduced John Dwyer into the fray but it was Rangers who were first out of the blocks scoring points from Brian Nolan and Denis Murphy to edge them into a one point advantage in the 40th minute. These scores were the cue for Tinryland to up the ante once again and a great Ian Scully point following good work by Jeff Sutton and Glen Doyle left matters all square with 20 minutes remaining. Fresh legs were introduced by manager Mick Casey with Shane O Neill and Paul Doyle going in to battle. A scoreless 10 minute spell during which Tinrylands defence held firm was finally broken when Cian Moore pointed following a great move involving Shane O Neill, Glen Doyle, Paul Doyle and Matthew O Toole. With 8 minutes remaining Michael Mullen doubled the Tinryland advantage when he slotted over a point following good work by John Paul Moore, Jeff Sutton and Conor Byrne and when Matthew O Toole slotted over another point with 4 minutes remaining, Tinryland led by three points. The insurance scorer duly arrived in the 57th minute when Jeff Sutton who had a tremendous game stretched the lead to 4 points before Rangers closed the scoring with a point from Gary Kelly on the stroke of full time.
Tinryland: Darren Murphy, Conor Byrne, John Paul Moore, Mark Dempsey, Danny Moran, Gary Morrissey, Niall Barrett, Michael Mullen 0-1, Cian Moore 0-1, Matthew O Toole 1-1, Glen Doyle 0-2, Cian Lawlor, Jeff Sutton 0-2, Ian Scully 0-2, Cathal O Toole 0-2. Subs:  John Dwyer, Paul Doyle and Shane O Neill.