Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-21 Quarter Final vs Michael Davitts

posted 21 Jul 2011, 08:26 by
Tinryland U21 team advance to Co. Semi Final

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland U21 footballers advanced to the Co. semi final with an emphatic 16 point victory over Michael Davitts at McGrath Park Bagenalstown on Wednesday evening 20th July. Despite the concession of a goal within seconds of the start Tinryland settled down to play an attractive brand of football and the boys in blue and white were ahead by the 14th minute following points  from Padraig Whelan (2) Alan Kirwan and Cormac Walshe.

Michael Davitts were briefly back on level terms by the 16th minute but six unanswered points between the 17th minute and the half time whistle gave Tinryland a commanding six point advantage when referee Seamus Doyle blew for the break.

Those six points were scored by 5 different players with Cathal O’Toole notching 2 in the 26th and 27th minutes and Robbie Power, Padraig Whelan, Jack Lowry and Cormac Walshe all helping to extend the Tinryland lead.

When play resumed it was the Leighlin, Ballinabranna, Old Leighlin outfit that was quickest out of the traps scoring 2 points in the 35th and 39th minutes to reduce the Tinryland advantage to 4 points. At this stage it looked that Tinryland would have a fight on their hands but the ship was quickly steadied by a succession of points from the hard working full forward Alan Kirwan, Robbie Power (3), Cathal O ‘Toole, and Jack Lowry. The icing was then put on the cake when Stephen O’Reilly rattled the ‘Davitts net in the 49th minute and a further goal from sub David Townsend and a point from Cormac Walshe saw Tinryland advance to a semi final meeting on August 17th with our neighbours Palatine.

All the Tinryland team performed well on Wednesday with goalie Darren Murphy receiving great back up from his entire defensive sextet of Luke Doyle, captain Conor Byrne, Kevin Barrett, Sean Conlon, Matthew O’Toole and Cian Lawlor who had a stormer at wing back. At midfield Padraig Whelan and Cormac Walshe easily got the better of David Kehoe and Hughie Gahan while the half forward line of David O’Shea, Robbie Power and Stephen O’Reilly together with the full forward line of Jack Lowry, Alan Kirwan and Cathal O’Toole were excellent throughout. Eight different Tinryland players got on the scoresheet in this game and three subs David Townsend, John Dwyer and Paddy Brown were introduced in the latter stages with Tinryland withdrawing their senior players who will be in action against St Patricks in Kildavin on Friday evening 22nd July at 7.30 p.m.