Match Reports‎ > ‎

U16 Football Div 1A Championship

posted 10 Aug 2013, 10:04 by

By Eamonn Byrne


                        Tinryland 0-10                        Eire Og  0-9

In one of the best games of the U16 football championship to date Tinryland and Eire Og served up an  early autumn cracker in Rathcrogue on Friday last. In terms of quality, skill, excitement and brilliant goalkeeping this game had it all with the  result in doubt until the final whistle.

The home side opened the scoring after only 24 seconds when Tinryland midfielder Peter Hennessy pointed. Eire Og replied within 2 minutes with a point from a free from Colm Hulton. Over the following 20 minutes there was never more than a point between the sides with the lead changing hands on a number of occasions. Eire Og edged ahead mid way through the first half when their corner back Jody Murphy slotted over a point but Tinryland were soon back in front with points from Niall Lowry, James McGrath and

Cathal Gaffney to lead at the break by 6 points to 4.  A feature of that first half was the excellent goalkeeping by Eire Og’s Craig Walker who made two excellent saves to keep his team in contention. When play resumed both sides traded points and Tinryland still held their two point advantage entering the final quarter. Two points from frees by James McGrath increased their advantage to 4 points entering the final 7 minutes but Eire Og then staged a magnificent rally scoring 3 unanswered points from Colm Hulton (2) and Dylan Salter. The Carlow town team could even have stolen the points from Tinryland but a tremendous save from goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne kept the Carlow town boys at bay and maintained Tinryland’s unbeaten record. The entire Tinryland team can be proud of their efforts in this game and the chances are these two teams will meet again in the knockout stages of the U16 championship. Goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne was excellent on Friday with his kick outs and shot stopping out of the top drawer. The entire defensive six of Bradleigh Nolan, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney and Dylan Reamsbottom never gave an inch away while at midfield Peter Hennessy and Niall Lowry worked tirelessly throughout. Up front James McGrath was his usual brilliant self and he was well supported by the hard working Ciaran Larkin, Seamus Curran, Killian Maher, Conall Dunne and Conor McGrath together with subs Adam Mullen, Brendan Quirke-Bolt and Rory Dunbar.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Bradleigh Nolan, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney 0-1, Dylan Reamsbottom, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Niall Lowry 0-2, Ciaran Larkin, James McGrath 0-5, Seamus Curran, Killian Maher, Conall Dunne, Conor McGrath 0-1. Subs Adam Mullen, Brendan Quirke-Bolt, Rory Dunbar.