Match Reports‎ > ‎

Understrength Minors lose out to Palatine in M.F.L.

posted 27 Mar 2014, 11:15 by
By Eamonn Byrne

Palatine won the neighbours bragging rights after this M.F.L. Division 1 round 2 game in Bennekerry on Wednesday 26th March with a six point victory over Tinryland who were short up to a dozen players due to Co. commitments, injuries and suspensions.

The home team were first to settle scoring three unanswered points in the opening 6 minutes. Tinryland had a great chance of a goal in the 10th minute but Dean Dunne saw his shot expertly saved by the Palatine goalkeeper. Seconds later the teams were all square when Tinryland midfielder Peter Hennessy scored a goal direct from the resulting  45. An Eoin Fields point and another goal from Conall Dunne amazingly saw Tinryland lead by 4 points in the 17th minute but Palatine then regrouped scoring two goals and a point before half time. Tinryland managed 2 further points via Andrew Hanley and Peter Hennessy during that spell to leave the half time score Palatine 2-4 Tinryland 2-3.

Tinryland introduced Michael Dobosz and Brendan Quirke-Bolt into the fray at half time but it was Palatine who once again were fastest out of the blocks. The home team tagged on three more unanswered points in the early stages and could have been further ahead but for some wayward shooting. Eamonn Murphy then came on for Tinryland and in one of the best moves from the boys in blue and white Conall Dunne slotted over a point following good play from Benny Quirke Bolt and Killian Maher. Tinryland then brought on Conor Ryan, Rory Doyle and Adam Mullen but further Palatine scores left the issue beyond doubt. Final score Palatine 3-8   Tinryland 2-5.

Tinryland despite this reverse had good players in defenders Luke Nolan, Fionnan Burke, Bradleigh Nolan, Ciaran Larkin, Peter Hennessy and Conall Dunne.

The minors now have almost a month until their next league game against Michael Davitts at home on Wednesday 23rd April 7 p.m.

Tinryland: Adam Nolan, Luke Nolan, Fionnan Burke, Niall Scully, Luc Corcoran, Bradleigh Nolan, Seamus Curran, Peter Hennessy 1-1, John Fleming, Andrew Hanley 0-1, Ciaran Larkin, Conall Dunne 1-2 , Eoin Fields 0-1, Killian Maher, Dean Dunne. Subs: Michael Dobosz, Brendan Quirke-Bolt, Eamonn Murphy, Rory Doyle, Conor Ryan, Adam Mullen.